Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Multicasting to phones

I posted earlier about the intercom services on the phones using CM 3.3.3 and have got the intercom between phones working great. I am wanting to play with getting the RTP multicasts working, where I can page a group of phones rather than just phone to phone. I'm assuming that it will simply be changing the URI's from RTPR & T to RTPMR & T and change the address to the multicast address. What I'm not sure of is how to get the phones put into multicast groups. Can anyone point me in the direction of where to look for this information? I am just a developer, so I am not real familiar with the management side of the Call Manager. And this is where I am guessing this is going to be set up, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for all your help,

Matt

23 REPLIES

Re: Multicasting to phones

Sorry to bother you all again, I was able to figure out that you don't have to create multicast groups, you just have the phones "listen" on whatever multicast ip you will be transmitting to.

That's great. If you don't mind sharing what you are doing, I'd appreciate it. Please email me at nchhabra@planetgov.com

Thanks,

Navi

Hi Matt,

Could you share what you have done to accomplish this? I am a Call Manager Administrator and would love to get this feature rolled out to the enterprise.

You can send me an email on this or post it here so others can see it as well.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Sudeep