cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Outside Dial tone

lammbo
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to telephony and I'm slightly confused about 1 aspect of my route patterns. I would like to provide outside dialtone for external DNs, I would like the dialtone to play right after they hit 9 (as in 9.XXXXXX). Right now, the dial tone doesn't play until after the 5th digit.

How can I alter this?

6 Replies 6

lnthompson
Level 1
Level 1

Can you post the rest of your route patterns? There is a good chance that you are matching digits on another pattern.

"When making calls to external numbers, Cisco CallManager can be configured to provide outside dialtone after an initial access code is dialed. For example, if you have a route pattern of 9.@ , you may want Cisco CallManager to play the external dialtone after entering the 9. In cases when this does not occur, it is due to an overlap of the dial plan configured on the CallManager. Cisco CallManager will play the outside dialtone when the pattern is unique. So if you have configured the 9.@ pattern, and perhaps a call park range of 9xx, CallManager will wait until the pattern is unique enough before playing the outside dialtone. The dot in the route pattern has nothing to do with when dialtone is played out to the caller. Places to look for overlap are other route patterns, MeetMe patterns, Call Park, Call Pickup, voicemail dns."

Just a little addition to the otherwise excellent explanation above: