Views
Helpful
Replies

PRI Caller ID - MGCP or H323?

pbrown
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I have a new PRI voice circuit. I'm very new to PRI and am still getting up to speed. I want to have full inbound and outbound caller id including both name and number. Does it matter whether I use MGCP or H323?

CCM = 3.3.3

switch type = DMS100

variance = NI2

Thanks,

Patrick

2 Replies 2

robrhodes
Level 3
Level 3

Either protocol should work for passing ANI. The choice of protocol really depends upon network design, other application requirements/functionality and personal preference.

You might want to read through the SRND:

http://www.cisco.com/application/pdf/en/us/guest/netsol/ns268/c649/ccmigration_09186a008017bb4a.pdf

mcnerney
Level 4
Level 4

Patrick

Here is a note I wrote down from a post from another user that was made here about a month ago:

Called TAC and have verified that H.323 does not support caller name in the Facilities IE it only supports caller Name if it is delivered in the Display IE. If you have an MGCP Gateway and Call Manager 3.3.3 Caller name is supported in Facilities IE and it works.

That being said, I had both name and number working between our CCM and Nortel SL-100 (basic same software as a DMS-100) when we were on 3.1(3). We are now on 3.3(2). But it took lots of fiddling with both ends and on the early software I couldn't get it to work with the NI2 protocol as it would only support the name display in the Facilities IE.

To get name display I think you will need to use MGCP and the NI2 protocol should be fine.