Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

QoS newbie questions

Hi All,

I am finally getting around to dealing with the voip issues in my inherited network. It seems voip was put into place with no thought at all. the siemens ip phones are on the same vlan as data and there is absolutely no qos involved. I have moved the ip phones to their own voice vlan, but as far as qos goes i am a total newbie. I have no clue where to start. Should I be looking to do this at L2 or L3? I have read in cisco docs that switches do not tax the main cpu when doing cos like routers do. I have all cisco switches and most if not all are L2 and L3. Is it possible to let a specific vlan (my voice vlan) have priority over everything else? is this the best way? Can someone give me direction?

TIA,

R

9 REPLIES

Re: QoS newbie questions

Auto QOS is a quick fix for switches but personally I prefer to learn the commands and truly understand whats going on. Router queues usually require more time and effort to configure correctly. Ultimately the best thing for you to do is to take a day and read through the QOS SRND. It's the best overall all in one resource for QoS. Depending on your hardware though you still might need to look up configuration for your gear but it has most of the common used equipments configurations in there. I was a QoS newbie when I first read it and I feel real confident now on my ability to deploy QoS.

Here is the link

http://www.cisco.com/application/pdf/en/us/guest/netsol/ns432/c649/ccmigration_09186a008049b062.pdf

Please rate any helpful posts

Thanks

Fred

Thanks for the info! I was actually right at the beginning of reading this document before you sent it and agree that it is proving to be useful.