Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about TFTP on CCM

Hi. I am new to CCM and have a question about TFTP and phone loads.

To make a long story short, I am configuring a new CCM (4.1.3) to match the configuration on an existing CCM (4.1.3). Users will be migrated from the old server to the new server.

I have already created all the system parameters such as route plans, etc, and am getting ready to BAT in the extensions from the existing server to the new server.

1. Will I need to consider existing TFTP files? For example, do the old TFTP files that are associated with specific phones have any info that is required if I want the phones to be exactly the same as they were after being switched to the new server, for example, ring settings, etc? Can the TFTP files be moved from one server to another if needed?

2. I noticed that when I go to “System->Device Defaults” the new and old servers have different “load information”. Am I correct in assuming that this means that the new and old Call Managers have different phone firmware loaded? Could this be a problem when I migrate the users and should I make the “Load information” the same on both servers? If I should change it, how do I do it?

3. Is there anything else I should know about TFTP, other than the service should be started on CCM and that it should be configured in the DHCP scope?

4 REPLIES

Re: Question about TFTP on CCM

I'll give this a shot:

1. The existing TFTP files are going to be somewhat relevant if you are trying to 'recreate' their existing environment. However, the TFTP files are not going to contain user defined ring settings, speedial information, etc. etc. So you are going to lose those settings as part of rebuilding the server. If you are truly trying to match the configuration of the existing CallManager, then I would highly recommend using the BARS utility that is supported and supplied by Cisco.

Link here: