cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

question regarding calling-party transf. vs. translation pattern

lgontarsk
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm studying up on the voice stuff, and am reading about calling/called party transformations vs. translation patterns.

Is the difference between them that transformations happen after the route-group has been picked and the translations happen before the routing decision has been made?

3 Replies 3

wschochet
Level 1
Level 1

Transformations are really about digit manipulation - they are more about getting hardware to communicate properly.

Translation patterns (although they do include transformations) are really about navigating partitions and calling search spaces.

Majdi Harb
Level 3
Level 3

hi

Calling party transformations settings allow you to manipulate the appearance of the calling party number for outgoing calls (CLID)

Called party transformations settings allow you to manipulate the dialed digits, or called party number, for outgoing calls.

Translation patterns manipulate dialed digits before it routes a call. In some cases, the system does not use the dialed number. In other cases, the public switched telephone network (PSTN) does not recognize the dialed number.

transf. concepts under route groups/patterns/translation patterns are confusing..

read the link below, it will clarify that a translation pattern is another thing, do not compare it to calling/called party transformations, but do compare calling/called party transformations under route group/route pattern .... vs calling/called party transformations under translation pattern.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/voicesw/ps556/products_administration_guide_chapter09186a00806b03c0.html#wp1044110

hth

please remember to rate helpful posts

/majdi

I have UCM version 8.0(2).

I'm finding that if the digits dialed by a user are processed by a translation pattern the Called Party Transformation settings have no effect: