Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

Save Unity with DiRT, uninstall & restore it

Hi,

we plan to do the following:

- save greetings etc with DiRT

- uninstall Unity

- change NT-accounts for Unity

- install Unity off box (without Exchange)

- install Unity with German OS, MSDE (not SQL), IE ...

- restore DB with DiRT

is that possible?

Will DiRT restore the Exchange 5.5 properties for Unity, after uninstall?

Is it a problem to change NT-Accounts (names)?

Nice weekend,

Axel

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cisco Employee

Re: Save Unity with DiRT, uninstall & restore it

yes, this will work fine - check out the help files and training videos for DiRT on it's home page here:

http://www.ciscounitytools.com/App_DisasterRecoveryTools.htm

I cover issues just like this. DiRT is designed to restore Unity specific data without caring or knowing what the original back end/configuration was or what the new backend/configuration is - so you can go from Ex55 on box to E2K off box or the like without it caring. It pulls all such information off the new install before doing the restore and then makes sure that's all preserved properly.

This is why you must restore DiRt onto a fully functioning, clean install of the same version of DiRT that you backed up - that way it can avoid having to cart all the message store/directory store configuration information around and converting it.

1 REPLY
Cisco Employee

Re: Save Unity with DiRT, uninstall & restore it

yes, this will work fine - check out the help files and training videos for DiRT on it's home page here:

http://www.ciscounitytools.com/App_DisasterRecoveryTools.htm

I cover issues just like this. DiRT is designed to restore Unity specific data without caring or knowing what the original back end/configuration was or what the new backend/configuration is - so you can go from Ex55 on box to E2K off box or the like without it caring. It pulls all such information off the new install before doing the restore and then makes sure that's all preserved properly.

This is why you must restore DiRt onto a fully functioning, clean install of the same version of DiRT that you backed up - that way it can avoid having to cart all the message store/directory store configuration information around and converting it.

92
Views
0
Helpful
1
Replies
CreatePlease login to create content