Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Community Member

Setting up basic VoIP hardware

I am currently looking to setup a home lab to provide basic VoIP capabilities.

I am pretty new to VoIP and I am just seeking some advice from the experts.

Basically I want to provide VoIP to a few friends that are in rural areas via my pots line allowing them to call the metro area for a local call fee instead of STD rates.

I was thinking along the lines of a 2851 router with adsl2+ WIC and an EVM-HD card, as I need a new router anyway for my home lab. Will this work? Also how do I terminate the EVM-HD to the RJ-11 phone socket?

Also what is a good accounting software for VoIP which will integrate so I can provide a automated billing service for the calls they make.

Cheers.

9 REPLIES
Community Member

Re: Setting up basic VoIP hardware

Brett,

You'll need an FXO card which will have 2 x RJ11 interfaces - these will connect direct into your phone socket.

The best thing I could suggest would be a 1760-V router where you can put the VIC-2FXO modules direct into it. When you add phones you'll need to VIC-2FXS modules.

Phones plug into FXS modules

Lines plug into FXO modules

Hope that makes life a little clearly? Probably not!

Community Member

There are a couple of options for IP PBX functionality:

1. Cisco Call Manager - Enterprise class IP PBX that can support a couple thousands phones distributed over various sites.

2. Cisco Call Manager Express - Smaller IP PBX that runs on a cisco ios router. Suitable for SMB customers replacing key telephone systems.