Views
Helpful
Replies

The "redial" debate

Victoria99
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings!

I am a new administrator for a Cisco phone system that is being deployed. Currently, we have two issues which I am dying to be the one who fixes them since I am pretty sure this is an easy fix. I've searched through the forms, and see some answers but I still have a question or two:

Users get "your call cannot e completed as dialed" when using missed calls redial because of course, when you do this, it isn't adding the 9 or in cases of long distance, 9+1. Only a few people are allowed to make international so I am not so worried about that. For some reason, I don't think that creating a dial pattern is the answer- there must be an easier way or "switch" that says "Hey... if this is a 10 digit call, I must add a "9 +1", if this a 7 digit call, I must add a "9".

Now I did see something like "application dial rules" in CM where you seem to be able to set parameters. Am I barking up the wrong tree here? There has got to be a simple way of doing this without affecting the whole system or making up patterns.

Thank you in advance!

13 Replies 13

Brandon Buffin
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

You could use Application Dial Rules (Route Plan -> Application Dial Rules) to prefix 7 digit numbers with a 9 and 10 digit numbers with 91. I think this would be the simplest way, but it is system wide. You could also use Translation Patterns which would allow you to limit the use of this feature to devices with a certain Calling Search Space. This option would require more configuration as you would have to add Calling Search Spaces and Partitions for each location that you have as the Translation Patterns for different locations would need to hit different Route Patterns and Gateways. The benefit would need to greatly outweigh the increased configuration and administration. Again, the simplest, cleanest way would be to use Dial Rules.

Hope this helps.

Brandon

Sascha Monteiro
Level 6
Level 6

Hi,