Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

VoIP implementation on a lab

Hi, to all...

I'm a newbie to VoIP and a difficult assignment was given to me at my university...

More specifically, I have to make the following implementation...

To be able:

1. To call conventional phones from the computers of our lab

2. To get calls from a foreign country (for example England) and our Cisco 3640

router to attend the connection to a local phone...

Conserning the first issue,I want to ask this:for the PSTN connection I have to connect an RJ-11 cable from the FXO port to the conventional telephone of the lab? and what about the dial peer statements?

The second issue is way out of my lead. Any suggestions would be helpful.

I have read some Cisco books but due to that I'm inexperienced concerning cisco programming it's hard for me to implement, so I would be grateful for any suggestions&advices given.

Thanks everyone who has the patience to read my topic in advance!

5 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Silver

Re: VoIP implementation on a lab

What are you planning on using as your call processing agent (PBX), CallManager or CallManager Express. CallManager requires Cisco approved server (either HP or IBM), and CallManager Express is IOS based, runs on Cisco Router. I would recommand CCME for your demonstration.

You are correct as to statement one, you will need 2 dial-peers: voip and pots, read these docs for more details:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk652/tk90/technologies_tech_note09186a008010ae1c.shtml

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk652/tk90/technologies_tech_note09186a008010fed1.shtml

here is doc about configuring them:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/iosswrel/ps1835/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a0080080aec.html

As to question number 2, by plugging the FXO to the router and configuring CallManager (either one), and creating the dial-peers, you will be able to make the calls.