cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VoIP in a hospital???

tnphoneman
Level 1
Level 1

Would it be a wise decision to convert a hospital to VoIP completely instead of a PBX?

6 Replies 6

dgahm
Level 8
Level 8

Yes, a properly designed and implemented IP Telephony system can be just as reliable as any PBX. I say that coming from a strong PBX background with Nortel, Siemens, and Rolm experience.

Yeah I currently work onsite and manage a Nortel PBX. We are starting to integrate some Cisco Call managers in remote areas. We also have Nortel VoIP sets and wireless sets. Seems to work fairly well so far. Some of my fellow employees who don't know that much about VoIP are worried that if they go VoIP that they will lose their jobs as we are contracted by the customer and they won't need us to manage VoIP when their IS dept can do it.

Managing VoIP and expecially IP telephony is quite a diffrent job than traditional networking.

But since the world is changing if I was a legacy PBX technician I would quickly try to learn IP telephony from a practical point of view at least.

There are times when in your job you have to learn really new things and this applies to everyone, doesn't ?

Hi Bryan,

This a fear that most traditional voice TDM techs have had at one time or another (myself included). When the idea of transitioning to VoIP first came up at our campus I thought it would do me out of a job. But really, there is a strong need for voice related skills with these implementations. So, in actuality, the work load didn't disappear it increased!