Views
Helpful
Replies

VoIP through a channel bank

teltac
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

we are planning to set up a VoIP termination system using a Cisco 2610 equipped with a VWIC MFT-T1 and an ADTRAN TSU 600e , TSU 600E will be connected to 12 C0 lines .

i am new to ADTRAN ,so i am asking if it needs a configuration to communicate to Cisco Router.

if you can provide me with sample configuration regarding ADTRAN and Cisco router 2610 , it will be very appreciated , because this case is very critical to me !!

Regards,

Ali

2 Replies 2

Erick Bergquist
Level 6
Level 6

The Adtran TSU config has FXO ports which are mapped to timeslots on the T1 basically. All the adtran configs I have worked with are just 1 to 1 mappings. timeslot 1 to port 1, timeslot 2 to port 2, etc.

Theres a T1 between the adtran and Cisco.

On cisco controller interface is like this:

controller t1 1/0

ds0-group 1 timeslots 1-24 type fxo-ground-start

the type may be differ depending on your exact port type.

The ds0-group command will create a voice-port you can configure and map dial-peers to.

hello,

i would like to thank you for your reply ,

let say that i am not using all the 24 FXO ports available through the six modules of ADTRAN TSU 600e( each ADTRAN module is equipped with 4 FXO ports and i only have 15 analog lines coming from Ministry of telecom..) , shall i busyout the unused timeslots on the Cisco T1 interface ? in other words normally a T1 has a 24 timeslots and so 9 timeslots will be remained idle and unused so should i disable them ?

-question regarding the signaling running on the analog lines coming from telecom , is that fxo loopstart or groundstart ? i could not get this info form provider!? i am just asking for a similar case what will be the signaling?

( Note : i can connect a normal phone to one of these analog lines and i could talk )

Sorry for that long story

Thanks for your reply

Best Regards,

Ali.

Getting Started