Views
Helpful
Replies

fixed wire testing

ohareka70
Level 3
Level 3

Hello,

I am a Datacentre Manager for a company with 21 racks (3 rows of 7). An external company has a contract to look after and do all the PAT testing and Fixed Wire Testing in out company buildings and want to do fixed wire testing in the DC.

I would prefer not to go ahead with this as they say they need to shut down the power to each rack.  Last time it was tested was 3 years ago when it was first built.

Is their a legal requirement to comply with this?

Or how often is this a requirement/

regards,

Kevin

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Right, I see what you mean.

We have three DC and we completely power down each DC twice annually.  The DC guys do alot of maintenance and upgrade because people keep adding racks of servers and services.  During the DC shutdown we keep ramping up the power requirements as well as rerun electrical cables back and forth.

Also during the time, the DC guys would regularly test all the power outlets including the UPS and the generators.

Does this answer your question?

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
I would prefer not to go ahead with this as they say they need to shut down the power to each rack.

Sorry but I'm from Australia.  What do you mean by "fixed wire"?  I mean if you want to test the copper ethernet cable then you can run TDR (if your switch supports this feature).  This function can be disruptive if the interface is running GigabitEthernet.

Testing of fibre uses OTDR and you need a special machine to do this and this can be very disruptive.

Or how often is this a requirement

Depends on how much trust you have on the people who did the cabling.  I mean in Australia government standard, cables are suppose to be tested using Fluke DTX-1800 testers.  I have seen copper cable fail even though the cablers have marked them as "Pass".