Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus Data Broker (NDB) Configuration

charlesleggett
Level 1
Level 1

Good morning all,

I am getting started using a Nexus Data Broker (and Cisco in general), so please take it easy on me.

I cannot figure out how to get the NDB to pass traffic.

I believe that I have the Configured Ports, Monitoring Devices, Configure Filters, and Apply Filters sections configured correctly in the Web GUI.

I think that my problem lies in the configuration of the underlying ports.

I've tried setting them in switchport modes of: access, trunk, and monitor.

I've tried to tag them with no vlans and with all vlans.

The only way that it will pass traffic is in trunk mode with all vlans tagged.

In this mode of course, it is simply passing all traffic and the filters that I have configured in the WebGUI have no effect.

Any ideas? Help me out.

Thanks.

--

Charles H. Leggett

11 Replies 11

branfarm1
Level 4
Level 4

Any luck on this?  I'm just getting started with NDB and am also running into problems. The documentation seems pretty thin on this.

Thanks to one of the Cisco guys, I've learned how to get things working. Let me know if you're still having trouble after you read this post, and I'll get you in touch with the right guy.

However during this effort, I learned something that I didn't expect: any one packet has one and only one "path" through the NDB. I expected the NDB to replicate packets so that they could be sent to more than one connection, which may each contain multiple ports.

Anyway, with that caveat out of the way, here's what we did together to get NDB running with an embeded controller on our Nexus 3500 series. I'm skipping the installation, which is pretty straight forward and starting with configuration.  Use this along with the install guides carefully b/c settings (pipeline speciffically) are different on different series.

Setup physical switch:

configure terminal

hardware profile forwarding-mode openflow-hybrid