Views
Helpful
Replies

1751 PPP Routing Help

jk-
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

I am new to working with Cisco Routers, and we have purchased a new 1751 with 1 CSU/DSU t1 WAN card.

The connection is a PPP T1 line, going from the school to the main district office where all the PPP connections meet from all the schools...

I am trying to configure this router, but have seem to have stumbled onto a roadblock...I know its probably something dumb (like a missing configuration, etc), but please bear with me as I am learning as I go along....

Ethernet IP is: 192.168.4.250

Serial IP is: 192.168.14.249

The serial gateway (located at the telco) is : 192.168.14.250

The issue:

We can ping the ethernet side of the router, but cannot route past it. Traceroutes to other subnets fail at the ethernet side of the router and cannot go any further.

Funny thing is...when we work from the 1751 console...we can traceroute, and ping other subnets without any problems..

Here is a copy of the config, please keep in mind Im trying to keep the config file as basic as possible until I get the router up and running, then Ill add more configurations to the existing config:

!

version 12.2

service timestamps debug uptime

service timestamps log uptime

no service password-encryption

!

hostname ##############

!

no logging console

enable secret 5 ############################

enable password ##############################

!

memory-size iomem 25

ip subnet-zero

!

!

!

!

interface FastEthernet0/0

ip address 192.168.4.250 255.255.255.0

speed auto

half-duplex

!

interface Serial0/0

description ###########################

ip address 192.168.14.249 255.255.255.0

encapsulation ppp

!

router ospf 1

log-adjacency-changes

!

router rip

version 2

passive-interface Serial0/0

network 192.168.4.0

no auto-summary

!

ip classless

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.14.250

no ip http server

!

snmp-server community ####################

!

line con 0

line aux 0

line vty 0 4