cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

1841 initial configuration

insccisco
Level 1
Level 1

Can anyone please help me configure a new 1841?

I need it to be configured with my DSL line.

I know it is simple, but I am a novice on routers.

some help or links to How-To's documents will be greatly appreciated

thanks

PS. I am reading the quick start guide and it says I need to ground this modular router. Is this required? I had already turned on the router and so far so good, but I just read this and I am now concerned

8 Replies 8

devang_etcom
Level 7
Level 7

ya your router is modular router and which IOS version running on your router...

regards

Devang

Cisco IOS Software, 1841 software (C1841-ADVSECURITYK9-M),

Version 12.4(3d), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc3)

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps5853/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a00804582d8.html

i am able to get only this document may this will help you

rate the post if it helps

regards

Devang

That link has to do with ATM clients and has to do only with the 1801, 1802 and the 1803

What I need is information for the 1841. I need to configure its Ethernet Interface 0 for DSL and I will also need to configure its Ethernet Interface 1 for a backup internet connection (cable)

let me know or anyone please help

thanks

I followed the link very closely and every time I tried Router(config)# vpdn enable, it never gave me the next prompt (Router(config-vpdn)# ) that the doc said it would.

I also tried the other commands on that link, and it didn't work.

I am using 12.4 IOS. Perhaps it could be that this document you sent me is for a different IOS version? I don't know

I thought this was gonna be easy but I can't seem to follow any of the docs you're sending me. My apologies and thank you very much for the time

I want to get this initial configuration running.