cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

2651 - T1 to ethernet

craigshaynak
Level 1
Level 1

I am a programmer by trade so I apologize in advance. Our company has two point to point T1's connecting our two offices via two Cisco 2651 XM routers. We are going to get rid of the second office and I wondered, if we put the two routers in the same room, could I connect the routers via some kind of crossover cable and keep it managing the various subnets? I know, it's dumb.... help!

8 Replies 8

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Craig

These forums have much to offer, both to those with experience and to those who are very new at it. So welcome to the forum.

The real answers about whether you can keep them connected, and if so how to do it, will depend on knowing a bit more about the routers and your environment (what kind of interfaces, what kind of functionality do you currently have and what will you have when these changes are made, where is your outside connectivity provided now and where will it be after the changes) but in general yes you should be able to keep the routers connected and managing the various subnets.

If you can tell us a bit more about what you currently have (what interfaces do you have, what is connected to what interface, what will you need to have after the changes) and what you will need after the changes, then perhaps we can give you better advice about what and how to do.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Thanks for the welcome. We have two main Win2K servers connected by two point to point T1's by a CISCO 2651 router on each side. If i were to move both servers in one building, can I maintain my subnetting structure (we really only use two main subnets, each with a 255.255.255.0 mask) so our main server on subnet 1 is simply 192.168.0.9 and the other main server has been assigned 192.168.1.9. Do I even need the routers anymore? If I plug both servers into the switch, can't i maintain these addreses? Thanks for your time and expertise!

m.christian