Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

4006 switch questions

Hi all,

This will be a long post, as I have a couple issues to run past everyone as I am a newbie to Cisco switches (and it shows!).

Our network is pretty basic: external 2501 router to ISP, PIX firewall, DMZ with 12 systems, and internal (token ring) network (150+/-). We also have remote sites coming in through on a frame relay and 3640 TR interface. The internal PC's route through a proxy server which is dual-homed on the DMZ.

In preparation for moving to Ethernet, we are installing a 4006 switch just behind the PIX. Management would like to put the DMZ on VLAN1 (172.16.18.0) and the internal network on VLAN2 (172.16.19.0) on the switch. The VLAN's do not need to communicate, just get out the PIX (DMZ IP) to the Internet. The remote sites will continue to use the 3640 interface. The switch ports on the module are configured to 10BaseT and half duplex. Otherwise the default configuration is in place. I assigned a DMZ IP to sc0 on the switch with the PIX as the gateway.

First: do we need L3 switching for two Vlans such as this? Do I need to add anything to the PIX configuration?

Second: I tried to put the PIX and DMZ systems on the switch last night. The DMZ systems could reach the internet, all except the Proxy server. But, the DMZ servers could not be reached from the 'outside' (which is necessary for a couple in-house applications).