Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

801 ISDN Ch1 gone down??

Router has been working satisfactorily 'til recently, but now won't dial out. Noticed on power up that the ISDN Ch1 TXD l.e.d. no longer stays on with all other l.e.d.s for about 1 second during initialisation - it flickers on once for a nanosecond, and that's it. Telco checked and reset ISDN line - reports all ok, no fault found. I've substituted cables, etc., but makes no difference. So I guess this is a hardware fault with the router...?

Assuming the above is correct, how do I alter my router config (simple language please, I'm a novice!) so that ISDN Ch2 is the default. Presumably I'll also need to disable Ch1.

ROGER - G0AOZ.

7 REPLIES
VIP Purple

Re: 801 ISDN Ch1 gone down??

Hello Roger,

you cannot independently configure the B-channels. A quick workaround would be to turn on ppp multilink and set the dialer load-threshold to 1, this way both B-channels always come up:

interface bri0

ppp multilink

dialer load-threshold 1

Which IOS version and platform are you running ? This might be a software bug.

Regards,

Georg

Hi Georg

Thanks for responding...

IOS is v12.0(5)T and I'm running Windows 2000 Pro SP3. Norton AV is bang up to date, so system is completely clean.

This system has been running untouched for months, which is why I'm looking at the router hardware as the source of the problem particularly in view of the changed l.e.d. status at initialisation. That l.e.d. was coming up "solid" like the others immediately prior to the connect failure.