Cisco Support Community
Community Member

A Large Asset Management Project

Hello All

I am relatively new to the field and am looking for some direction. I have been presented a project where I need to gather the following information for over 300 pieces of primarily Cisco equipment and present it in some coherent manner - they are hoping for a web page(s). What are the best tools and utilities our there to do this? Has anyone run up against this kind of project before? What kind of time frame should I give them?

- Switch manufacturer & model

- Switch IOS type (CatOS/IOS) and version (if Cisco)

- Indication if there's any security issues against this running version of IOS/CatOS necessitating an upgrade.

- CatOS/IOS upgrade limitations (what's the latest version we can upgrade to give the current hardware config, and what's the latest version we can upgrade to if we add memory and/or flash)

- Switch Flash and DRAM (if Cisco)

- Switch agent's IP address and hostname

- Switch agent's name in the DNS (discrepancies requiring correction will inevitably exist)

- Switch agent's native VLAN

- VLANs supported on the switch (VLAN number and name)

- Identification of uplink ports on each switch and confirming duplex and

speed mismatches matches

- Identification of uplinked VLAN mismatches

- nature of uplink (straight connection or 802.1q trunking), and VLANs carrying across trunk, if applicable

- Serial number of hardware (which we can do later on after the network-based identification stuff has completed)

I know I probably can't get all of this information via one tool but I am hope to get most of it. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Donald Salvato

Practice Leader

Imperial Software, Inc.

A TekConnect Company

Re: A Large Asset Management Project