Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

a packet loss in Cisco3662 with using category5 cable.

hi, i'm a network engineer in japanese mobile phone company.

this week, we tested the throughput in cisco3662. we tested for 72hours with 50Kpps. we had one packet loss in 9 billion packets input/output. we consider cisco3662 itself has no problem. so, there may be a problem in the category 5 cable. is there any limitation in the category5 cable? does category 5 cable cause the packet loss?? i checked ieee802.3 CSMA/CD, but couldn't find any reference of the limitation. i really appreciate if anybody knows anything about this... thank you.

4 REPLIES

Re: a packet loss in Cisco3662 with using category5 cable.

All kinds of external interferance can cause a packet to get lost, even switching on the light can cause this. It is quite normal and normaly gets resolved by higher layer error correction. 1 in 9 billion is actualy very good.

Green

Any fault in the cable would not show as a loss, it would show up as excessive re-transmissions. The higher-level protocols should recognize the dropped/lost frame and re-transmit.

A lost or dropped packet (L3) or frame (L2) could occur anywhere from the cable up to the internal buffering of the device, but the higher-level processes should identify the "gap" and ask for a re-send (or get a negative acknowledgement from the other end and do the re-transmit).

Bad (kinked, twisted, not meeting minimum bend radius, crushed jacket, bad termination ...) cables would show symptoms of high-speed intolerance (many re-transmits at 100 mbps, fewer or none at 10mbps).

Were there any other elevated parameters?

Scott

thank you for answering my question.

i guess there is no limitation in ethernet cable.