cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Bandwidth over utillised

amacdos
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there , I am still new in networking .

I am facing a bandwidth over utilised problem to a remote site . When I ping the eo interfaces at some time , they will be a lot of time out and , I tried pinging a server , it gave the same result .

I have checked with my service provider . But they say , my line is over utilised . The serial interface is almost 90 % utilised .

The question is how do I know , or how to check from my router that the Serial interface is fully utilised or the internal traffic is high . Should I check the Ethernet interface also ?

Any commands to check ....

Please help .

8 Replies 8

pkhatri
Level 11
Level 11

Hi,

Firstly, configure the following command under your serial interface: load-interval 30

Then, issue the 'show interfaces serial x/y' command and see what input/output rate you are running on that line. That will tell you whether or not you have too much traffic on that link.

Pls do remember to rate posts.

Paresh

Thanks for your prompt reply . I am afraid I can't make any changes in the router , because the router belong to our ISP . I have only read access .

I did not get you , what is the input/output rate ..

Below is the output from my serial interface

Serial0 is up, line protocol is up

Hardware is PowerQUICC Serial

Description: Cisco

Internet address is 1.1.1.1

MTU 1500 bytes, BW 128 Kbit, DLY 20000 usec,

reliability 255/255, txload 41/255, rxload 93/255

Encapsulation HDLC, loopback not set

Keepalive set (10 sec)

Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never

Last clearing of "show interface" counters 8w6d

Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 13106

Queueing strategy: weighted fair

Output queue: 0/1000/64/13106 (size/max total/threshold/drops)

Conversations 0/17/32 (active/max active/max total)

Reserved Conversations 1/1 (allocated/max allocated)

Available Bandwidth 88 kilobits/sec