cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic Question for the Masses

pdiederich
Level 1
Level 1

I'm going to be installing a small LAN at my office and I have never used Cisco products before. I do know that they are the best, most powerful, and the only one that I want for my hub/switch. I would like to know if in a LAN with 12 people max, if using the FastHub 400 or the Catalyst 1900 would be better. Or if using both would be the best way to go, although there would be a lot of open ports. Also do both of those items have a built in firewall, Cisco IOS Firewall, or do I need an external source?

Thanks for any and all help,

Phil

6 Replies 6

millerv
Level 1
Level 1

I would not choose either. Take a look at the 2950

instead. the 1900 only does 10Mbps on all but 2 ports. these are ethernet switches, and as such do

not do any firewall functions. If your office is going to connect to the internet, thats where you need a router with the firewall feature set.

j.way
Level 1
Level 1

Switches are always a bit nicer than hubs in that they are smarter and more configurable, and usually more expensive. However, if your LAN will be somewhere in the 12 WS plus shared printers,and maybe a file server and so on, I still recommend a small switch (1900). For small office firewall, I hate to say it, there are better solutions...NetScreen... I know I'll get blasted for that one.

Josh.

streetm
Level 1
Level 1

dfsvd

streetm
Level 1
Level 1