cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP + 2 ISPs on 2620...?

4s.welch
Level 1
Level 1

I need to set up a web cluster which has connectivity to two ISPs (redundancy as well as performance reasons). There will be somewhat significant traffic present, but not a significant budget. I only have access to 2 standard 2620s each with a T1 WIC.

-- Should I put the 2 WICs in one 2620 and use BGP?

-- Can a 2600 handle this kind of setup (I hear BGP tables are 100MB+)? If so, what does it need, more memory, different WIC?

-- Can I set up one for each ISP and then have the 2620s talk to each other, to share the load so to speak? The cluster will be behind a PIX, by the way, don't know if that helps this kinda setup.

-- Any sample config snippets would be greatly appreciated, I'm new to BGP...

4 Replies 4

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If you want redundancy, then use both 2620's. I would suggest you consider running HSRP between two of the Ethernets that connect to your network betwen the 2620's.

If you have one AS number, then I would talk BGP between each 2620, and its respective ISP, and use something like internal BGP between the two routers.

JEREMY GRAY
Level 1
Level 1