Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

c3550 hangs network

I have a c3500xl and c3550 switch connected via gbic. I am trying to add a new c3550 connected via a gbic. I know I am running the cables correctly, but everytime I connect the new one, random users on the other 2 switches start losing connection. After looking at the spanning-tree configurations, I noticed that the existing switches see the c3500xl as the root of vlan1. The new c3550 I'm trying to connect thinks he is the root. How can I change this?

Thanks in advance. I'm new to this.

SG

4 REPLIES
Gold

Re: c3550 hangs network

You can control which switch is the root, on a VLAN by VLAN basis. On whichever switch you want to make the root, run the following command:

spanning-tree vlan 1 2 3 4 5 priority 10

The "1 2 3 4 5" are the VLANs you want the bridge-priority to apply to. (I just included VLANs 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 here as an example; use the numbers that correspond to your VLANs.)

The bridge-priority of "10" makes it extremely likely that this switch will be chosen as the root. The range of valid priority numbers numbers runs from 0 to 65535, and the default is 32768. Lower numbers are higher priority; that is, more likely to be selected as the root.

Generally speaking, the root switch should be one that's logically central to your network. Everybody else plugs into this, either directly or indirectly.

If you do this on the switch that is NOT the current root, there will be a 30 to 50 second stoppage in network service, max. Once it's done, it's done.

If you do this on the switch that is the current root, there will be no service disruption.