Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Cisco 2514 and IPSEC

I have a 2154 handling many to one translations. As fas as I know IPSEC only works with a one to one translation. Are they going to implement a way for IPSEC to flow in the many to one environment or should I look for other solutions. If I had roughly ten addresses, could I reserve a pool of 9 for IPSEC only and i address if they aren't using ipsec. So to say, if my internal users wanted to surf, it would overload the one address. If they wanted to use the vpn they could grab one from the pool to be static. I am fairly new to the scene so any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Other Network Infrastructure Subjects
4 REPLIES

Re: Cisco 2514 and IPSEC

As I am so fond of saying, anything can be done if you are willing to live with the complexity. The first question that comes to mind is what are you doing with IPSec that you would need NAT? If you are going between remote offices, then you do not need NAT. I would need more information on what is on the other side of the iPSec tunnel to provide assistance.

Small business using a cable modem for internet access needs to connect to a larger business via a vpn concentrator cisco 3005. the cable modem provider limits what we can do with the router. I just want the ability for users internal to the cable modem to initiate a vpn connection using cisco vpn software.

internal users-->2514-->cablemodem(internet(internet)UUNet-->vpn concentrator