cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 806 Router Takes long time to load certain pages

lbogiani
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to Cisco Routers and IOS so please bear with me if the question seems insignificant. I have an 800 series router (806) at home connected to my DSL line. I love the router and have had it for about 2 months now, but have noticed that certain webpages take a very long time to load. This does not happen with all pages, most load quickly within a few seconds, but other pages such as mynetscape.com, and this forum page, can take 1-2 minutes to load (In the case of this forum page, all the other pages I've tried in the Cisco website load great asides from this one). This happens all the time and only with specific webpages. I would normally think that its a problem with the page itself, but I had a linksys broadband router before my Cisco and this is not the case with that router, they all loaded at the same rate. I am also able to pull these pages fairly quickly at work (and the internet connection at work is not even as fast as my dsl at home), its only at home I have this problem.

I am able to pull even image-intensive pages fairly quick, yet the mentioned pages which don't even have many images crawl for over a minute.

I have tried disabling the firewall option but this did not help, I'm trying to figure out what could be causing these pages to load so slow, maybe a java applet, or some script runing in these pages cause it to load slow?

Like I said i'm fairly new with IOS and still have a lot to learn so I'm thinking there may be some sort of hidden command or option that I can run or enable to improve this?

If you have any ideas please let me know

11 Replies 11

raymong
Level 4
Level 4

Sounds like a problem with MTU negotiation. Read through the following link on how to correct this problem:

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/794/router_mtu.html