cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CiscoWorks and HP OpenView Network Node Manager

mdelroy
Level 1
Level 1

Can someone contrast the capabilities of CiscoWorks and HP OpenView Network Node Manager? I'm new to network management and have been asked to explore options for fault and performance management for a LAN consisting of several hundred 3500/3550 switches and 30 VLANs.

I'm considering the book "Performance and Fault Management", by Paul L Della Maggiora, Cisco Press as well to help me explore what we should monitor and how. Any other resource recommendations?

Thanks,

M.D.

1 Reply 1

drolemc
Level 6
Level 6

This really depends on what fault features and functionalities you are looking for. When talking about multiple VLANs, one of the things you might be looking for is the ability to partition the views in the NOC by VLAN. This is commonly called a customer network managed view. There's a white paper on it located at:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/netmgtsw/ps996/products_white_paper09186a0080091c28.shtml