Views
Helpful
Replies

Console connection to a uBR924

rchay
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm having problems with connecting to the console port on a uBR924. I have exhausted every option I know and come to the collective wisdom of the people that frequent this site. Before you roll your eyes, please read on... <g>

A little background on me:

I have over 7 yrs of Cisco experience (1600's, 2500's, 2600's, 4000's, 3600's, 7200's, 6500's) off and on and have completed the CCNA course at San Jose. I am very familiar (maybe too familiar) with this site and all the documents available here.

The problem:

I can't get access to the router through the console port. I boot the router with nothing attached (no cables except the power cord) and all the lights do what they should at power up as per the boot up docs on this site. When it's done booting up, the power LED is constant and the CATV link light blinks. I connect to the console port and there is nothing. I hit enter 3 times and no response.

I tried this with my laptop and my desktop. I've used my laptop to console into other routers before and it works fine.

I have a cisco roll overcable and a DB9 adapter for my laptop. I've tried using a different rollover cable and DB9 adapter(3 different ones) and even made my own rollover cable using a cat5 cable.

I tried using hyperterminal and SecureCRT v3.3.1 configured 8-n-1 no hardware flow control. I've played with the settings in both apps and still couldn't get a connection. I have the COM selected correctly.

There must be something I'm missing but I've never had this many problems connecting to the console port of a Cisco device, even my first time ever.

Any thoughts, advice, comments?

TIA,

-Bobby

11 Replies 11

makchitale
Level 6
Level 6

Does this happen when the cable modem is online or just when it's powered up w/o any connection to the cable provider?