Views
Helpful
Replies

cross connecting 3750 stacks

fkatsumi1
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to Cisco switches.

I need to connect two 3750G stacks. One stack consists of 3 x 3750G-48PS and 2nd stack is 3 x 3750G-24TS. Since all switches have 4 SFP ports I would like to use them to create 3 3Gb etherchannels in a full mesh and redundancy.

stack1 Gi1/0/49 - stack2 Gi1/0/25

stack1 Gi1/0/50 - stack2 Gi2/0/25

stack1 Gi1/0/51 - stack2 Gi3/0/25

stack1 Gi2/0/49 - stack2 Gi1/0/26

stack1 Gi2/0/50 - stack2 Gi2/0/26

stack1 Gi2/0/51 - stack2 Gi3/0/26

stack1 Gi3/0/49 - stack2 Gi1/0/27

stack1 Gi3/0/50 - stack2 Gi2/0/27

stack1 Gi3/0/51 - stack2 Gi3/0/27

Is this overkill or am I headed in a right direction? I have only the default VLAN so I understand that only one etherchannel is used for cross stack connection. Will this achieve auto failover?

Fred

8 Replies 8

Edison Ortiz
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Fred,

You are heading in a right direction and your configuration will achieve auto failover.

I don't think redundancy can ever be an overkill :)

mmorris11
Level 4
Level 4

Are these switch stacks physically close enough to connect with a stack cable?

they are about 100ft away and can't be stacked all together.

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If you are using the stacking cables in the back of each of these stacks then it seems like major overkill on the connections between the boxes , hard to believe you would need that kind of bandwidth between the boxes but I don't know your traffic patterns . I would think 1 crosstack etherchannel ( 1 connection between each switch in the stack ) between the boxes would be enough .

Thanks for replying.