cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Data encryption in 2500 router

zakaria.mohd
Level 1
Level 1

This question may sound stupid but sadly I am new to routers and in need of help.

I am tasked to setup DATA ENCRYPTION between 2 sites running leased line. Each site is using cisco 2500 routers ver 11.0 (16). The routers are using ppp encapsulation.

My questions are:

1. Does 2500 router IOS offer data encryption feature? If yes, pls point to me the information on how to configure it.

2. What other cheap/freeware solution that can meet the requirement?

Thanks for the help.

6 Replies 6

ahvn
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

As you are using PPP for your leased line I don't think there is any encription going around. You can have VPN tunneling if you need data encryption.You can always encript the passwords for your routers at both ends with command

service password-encryption

And if you have bri interface in your routers you can use PAP for authentication by default which is encrypted.

Regards,

Homin

dinekal
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Data Encryption is the IOS feature but you did not specify the exact IOS version. However, assuming you are using proper IOS that support encryption, I recommend the following URL

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/105/IPSECpart1.html

I don't think you anymore need freeware's to setup site-to-site VPN, once you have routers. Better switch over to 12.x IOS version, that fixed the bugs of earlier versions.

Note: Do consider the number of sessions as it is the primary constriant for setting up IOS based VPNs.

Hope this helps

Dinesh

vatsan
Level 1
Level 1

HI Zakaria

The above answer should suffice your doubts.

Basically to configure and give you more picture on how this works the following URL will perhaps give more clarity.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/iosswrel/ps1824/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a0080087e8b.html

Thanks

Vatsan.

Hi All,

My thanks to Ahvn, Dinekel and Vatsan for the valueable feedback.