Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Webcast-Catalyst9k

Developing Policy Route Maps

I am new to this level and in search of guidance. Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

I am working on splitting a class C between 2 routers running BGP that are homed to the same AS. I believe that I want to advertise the class C out both for redundancy but want to direct half the outbound traffic to one site and half to the other. I know it could be done with static routes but that's just ugly. Policy route maps appear to be the way to go since they are based on source vs. destination. My neighbor in the AS will announce #.#.#.0 / 25 as

available via it's link to site 1 and #.#.#.128 / 25 available via the link to site 2 to avoid asymmetrical routing. This will probably be done with a metric from their end, again so that in the event of a link going down traffic will still find it's way.

The end result I hope to achieve is:

#.#.#.128 /25 is advertised from router1 as available via t1(a);

#.#.#.0 /25 is also advertised from router1 as available via t1(a) but with a higher weight to support failover?;

#.#.#.128 / 25 traffic enters and exits router1 to site1 via t1(a)

#.#.#.0 /25 is advertised from router2 as available via t1(b);

#.#.#.128 /25 is also advertised from router2 as available via t1(b) but with a higher weight to support failover?;

#.#.#.0 / 25 traffic enters and exits router2 to site2 via t1(b)