Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

Downgrading CatOs

Last night I had some problems with an upgrade to the latest version of CatOs and so I change the boot variable back to the old code and reloaded.

When the switches came back up the configs had been wiped. Has anyone come across this before??

2 REPLIES

Re: Downgrading CatOs

Hi Friend,

AFAIK its a expected behavior many a times when you downgrade the image on the switch or routers they loose the configuration.

I am not sure if it is a bug but it is recommended to take the backup of the configuration before any upgrades and downgrades.

HTH

Ankur

Cisco Employee

Re: Downgrading CatOs

Ankur is correct. In CatOS, whenever you downgrade code, the configuration will be erased. This is documented here:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps663/products_configuration_example09186a00801461ef.shtml#tshoot3

HTH,

Bobby

*Please rate helpful posts.

142
Views
0
Helpful
2
Replies
CreatePlease to create content