Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Super Bronze

Erase Flash before copying?

Hi

If I get a new router, and try to copy a file from tftp to flash, it copies the file without disturbing what's there.

If I erase the flash, from that point it always prompts me to erase the flash before copying and I have to explicity press N or ESC to prevent it being wiped.

What changes this behaviour? Can I do something after the flash is erased the first time to stop this prompt appearing??

Anyone?

Thanks

Aaron

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!
4 REPLIES
VIP Purple

Re: Erase Flash before copying?

Hello Aaron,

I think the prompt you get is influenced by whatever you have configured under 'file prompt', the default is 'alert':

Router#conf t

Router(config)#file prompt ?

alert Prompt only for destructive file operations

noisy Confirm all file operation parameters

quiet Seldom prompt for file operations

If you configure this for ´quiet´ it will suppress most of the prompts, not sure if that will also get rid of the one you encounter, give it a try...

Regards,

GP

Super Bronze

Re: Erase Flash before copying?

Hi

I did notice the file prompt command, however I was concerned that 'quiet' might result in it just erasing the flash without prompting.. it wasn't the right time/place to try it!

It just seems strange that it happens only after the first erase flash command is entered, as if either the erase command alters some setting somewhere or there is something on the flash when shipped that causes the router to not suggest erasing when using TFTP...

Aaron

Aaron

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!
Community Member

Re: Erase Flash before copying?

I had this same problem and always thought it was just me. This is all I can find which really doesn't help that much but gives a little insite on how it works:

!--- On Class B Flash file systems, the router gives you the option of erasing

!--- the existing contents of Flash memory before writing to it. If no free Flash

!--- memory is available, or if no files have ever been written to Flash memory,

!--- the erase routine is required before new files can be copied. If there is

!--- enough free Flash memory, the router gives you the option of erasing the

!--- existing Flash memory before writing to it. The system will inform you

!--- of these conditions and prompt you for a response.

!--- If you enter 'n' after the "Erase flash before writing?" prompt, the copy

!--- process continues. If you enter 'y' and confirm the erasure, the erase

!--- routine begins. Be sure to have ample Flash memory space before entering "n"

!--- at the erasure prompt.

I would also look into the 'squeeze' command. When i have an extra router my way i'll test it out.

Super Bronze

Re: Erase Flash before copying?

Anyone any further ideas on this subject?

Aaron

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!
493
Views
0
Helpful
4
Replies
CreatePlease to create content