Views
Helpful
Replies

Factory reset on cisco 1811

IM-Design
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings,

I have a new cisco 1811 that I have perfomed a factory reset on. Here is what I did:

-Connected via console

-Ctrl-Break to get to "Rommon 1>" prompt

-Entered 'confreg 0x142'

-Entered 'reset'

-Entered save running-config startup-config

I expected that this procedure would return me to the default state where I received the router, with the ability to connect to a 10.10.10.x network and start SDM.

Needless to say, I am a cisco newbie.

Please help.

TIA

charlie

6 Replies 6

stomasko
Level 4
Level 4

Try looking at the website below. Look at the area near the bottom on enabling SDM on an IOS startup router.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps5853/prod_configuration_guide09186a00802c35de.html#wp44542

Hope this helps.

Steve

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes I found that page and carried out the instructions, but still no joy. Here is an update on my learning process:

-I now know that the rommon prompt (which I got to using Ctrl-Break from within hyperterm on window XP connected to the console) is the system that causes the IOS system to boot. When I changed the confreg parameter from the rommon prompt, I neglected to note what my current confreg setting was, so I cant change it back (help here please). At the moment, the confreg setting is 0x142. What should it be to get this router back to the state where I started with it?

-In the flash filespace, I have a number of files, all dated Nov 22 of this year, which Im assuming are what I need to get this back and going the way it was when I first poweed it up. These files are:

c181x-advipservicesk9-mz.124-2.T2.bin

sdmconfig-1811-1812.cfg

sdm.tar

es.tar

common.tar

home.shtml

home.tar

128MB.sdf

At the moment when I power-off and power-on the router, Im prompted with the following question: