Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Forward web, mail, etc. DHCP? Newbie!

Hello one and all,

Please excuse me while I first say that I am a 100% Cisco NEWBIE. I will soon be starting my very first Cisco classes and eventually will be taking over VoIP for my company. But this is a way's off. In order to start my new path, I bought two 2924 model switches and a 2611 router for my personal use at home. These will be learning tools for me, however, there are a few things I'd like initial help with because I already have a fully-functional, linux-based network at my home, complete with every type of server known to man.

Now as I said, I'm a total newbie, and truth be told, I haven't even turned this router on yet! I know almost no Cisco commands. But I am knowledgable in networking as a whole, and know linux CLI well. So I do have a clue, but please feel free to explain things to me like a 5 year old regardless.

I have Apache web server running on my current linux box. I also have Sendmail as my mail server. Now right now that same linux box is actually acting as my network router via NAT and is connected directly to my cable modem.

So...

Item 1: Since my ISP sends out DHCP addresses, will this be problematic with the 2611? Right now, when I get a new address (about twice a year), I don't have to do anything expect change my DNS settings with my registrar to point to the new IP. I can't think of why that would change, but will it?