cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with switch selection

admin_2
Level 3
Level 3

I will preface this by saying I am a Mechanical Designer, our Electrical Designer is no longer with the company.

I have a situation that involves selecting the entire system for GigEthernet, equipment to equipment. I have no knowledge about switches, routers or the like. I am looking for help as to what parameters are needed in order to select the proper equipment.

Given:

Three story school building

50um backbone cable

Cat5e to the Work Areas

Need 10/100 to the desktops

Need T1 connection to incoming applications

There will be no fiber run longer than 500m

There will be no UTP run longer than 90m

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

5 Replies 5

mbettis
Level 1
Level 1

More info...

How many network connections per floor?

Are you looking for redundancy or a just get it to work?

Are you looking at VLANs?

Where are the servers and networking equipment located?

Is the Cat5e cable terminated at each floor?

Where is the fiber ran to and from?

Thanks,

Matt Bettis

mbettis@urbandale.org

konigl
Level 7
Level 7

Some of the questions that must be answered, in order to narrow the switching and routing equipment choices down to what's best for your situation:

>>>Three story school building

* How many wiring closets/distribution frames per floor?

* What kind of electrical power, space, and cooling/ventilation is available per closet?

* Is there one wiring closet/distribution frame that seems ideally suited to being the main one?

* Where is the telecommunications demarcation point (demarc) for the building?

* Is there a designated server room, with adequate space, climate control, and physical security (e.g. restricted access, with cipher lock or electronic card key access control)?

* Will the servers need Gigabit Ethernet connections? Over copper (Cat5 or greater) or fiber cable? How many?