cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How do you know if it's the T1 line or Router that is the problem?

dvando
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm very new to T1's and routers. Lately our router seem to go down, I'm not sure how to first go about troubleshooting. I do not want to go to the vendor if it's the router. We are using a Cisco 2501 router, and it randomlys goes down. I can't ping the router when it goes down. The only thing I can do is turn it off and on to get it going again.

The LED on the router is on and green. But there's no sign of packets being received or transmitted on the CentreCOM MX20T MAU unit. Any info or tips you can give me is greatly appreciated.

2 Replies 2

michael-faust
Level 1
Level 1

When you say that you can't ping the router it doesn't help much. Are you pinging the serial interface? Are you local or remote? Anyway I will try to help.

The things to consider are the router, the serial cable (V.35?), the CSU/DSU, the T1 line, the remote router, the remote serial cable, or the remote CSU/DSU. Since you say that a reboot will return it to normal, I will guess that it is not the remote equipment. We can look into that if we can't find the trouble locally.

A bad T1 line can cause the CSU/DSU to go down and thus the router interface will be down, but rebooting the router will not fix a bad T1, so lets skip that for now.

So far, we have used theory to sectionalize the trouble to the local router, the local serial cable, or the local CSU/DSU. How to troubleshoot: When it goes down, what is the condition of the interface? Did you issue the 'show interface' command? Did it say 'up' and 'up' for the physical interface and line protocol? That is good. 'up' and 'down' or 'down' and 'down' are bad.