Cisco Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
You may experience some slow load times, errors, and slight inconsistencies. We ask for your patience as we finalize the launch. Thank you.

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

HWIC-4ESW capable of DSCP marking?

Hello. Does anyone know if the HWIC-4ESW card is capable of classifying traffic and marking DSCP values on those packets?



  • Other Network Infrastructure Subjects
VIP Purple

Re: HWIC-4ESW capable of DSCP marking?

Hello Mike,

this is from the relevant Q&A: QoS to DSCP mapping is supported:

Q. What features are supported on the Cisco EtherSwitch HWICs?

A. The following features are supported on the Cisco EtherSwitch HWICs:

Up to 15 individual VLANs per 4- or 9-port Cisco EtherSwitch HWIC

IEEE 802.1Q tagged and untagged VLANs

Virtual Trunking Protocol (VTP) support for client, server, and transparent modes

Layer 2 MAC-related feature support:

Secure MAC addresses

Static and Dynamic MAC addressing

2000 MAC addresses

Port application support

SPAN port monitoring

Per-port storm control for broadcasts, unicasts, and multicasts

QoS feature support

IEEE 802.1p class-of-service (CoS) priority for 802.1Q tagged frame

Port-based priority for native frames

Port priority to overwrite the IEEE 802.1p priority

Strict priority and Weighted Round Robin CoS policies

CoS-to-differentiated services code point (DSCP) mapping

Internet Group Management Protocol (IGMP) snooping

Network Time Protocol (NTP) support

IEEE 802.1D spanning tree and Spanning Tree Protocol PortFast

Secure port filtering (200 secure MAC addresses)

Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) support

Telnet client and server support

Cisco Discovery Protocol Versions 1 and 2 support

Fallback bridging

802.1x authentication

IEEE 802.3af-compliant PoE

Q. What features are not supported on the 4- and 9-port Cisco EtherSwitch HWICs?

A. The following features are not supported on the Cisco EtherSwitch HWICs:

Layer 3 switching (this is done through the router)

Dynamic VLAN for access port

VTP pruning

Network port

Routed port

Per-port enabling and disabling of unknown multicast and unicast packets

Cisco Group Management Protocol (GMP) client

Rate limiting

Cisco Cluster Management Suite (CMS) support