interface ACL counters

linnea.wren
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Newbie here... 2 questions:

1. Say you do "sh access-list 109", and see something like this:

..permit tcp any any established

..permit udp any any eq bootps (116125 matches)

..permit icmp any any (782 matches)

..permit udp 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 eq domain

..permit tcp 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 eq domain

..deny ip any 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 (594854 matches)

..permit ip 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 any (4623174 matches)

Would you want to re-enter the access list entries in descending count order? Or maybe not. I see that sorting this list in descending count order produces this:

..access-list 109 deny ip any 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255

..access-list 109 permit udp any any eq bootps

This order prevents some hits on the 2nd entry that were permitted in the original order... Right?

Would you remove the entries that are getting zero hits?

2. There's an implicit deny at the end of an access list. But, if you included an explicit, "deny ip any any" as your last statement, wouldn't that help by letting you get a count of traffic that got that far?

Generally speaking, while I get rules of ACLs conceptually speaking, I have no actual experience. I'm looking for ways to understand the effects of changes, and to evaluate if ACLs have unnecessary entries, or even contradictory entries...

TIA...

1 Reply 1

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Linnea

You are asking a good question about a topic that is quite complex and subtle. There are several things that one must be thinking about when you start to optimize an access list. I believe that two of these are: