cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Is Cisco WS-C2950G-48-EI 48-Port Switch a layer 3 device?

IsaiasPerez1977
Level 1
Level 1

I just bought one from Ebay and i can seem to find the IP routing command anywhere in the global configuration menu? I can t seem to find how to turn on SSH V2 either? its so weird. I am a beginner with CCNA and have been studying but cant seem to find certain commands. Do I need to update the version of the IOS?

14 Replies 14

Sandeep Choudhary
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Isaias,

Which Image u r running on switch ?

May be u r running Enhanced image running on the swicth ??

It works as layer 2 device.

Regards

The whole Catalyst 2950 platform does not support routing, they are solely layer-2 switches.

If you want to use cryptographic functions like SSH, you have to use an "IOS Crypto Image":

http://software.cisco.com/download/release.html?mdfid=275935124&flowid=2399&softwareid=280805680&release=12.1.22-EA14&relind=AVAILABLE&rellifecycle=ED&reltype=latest

(On more recent platforms, a Crypto IOS has a "k9" in it's name)

HTH

Rolf

Thank you very much. This was advertised as a L3 switch on ebay. What would be your recommendation for me to buy a cheap layer 3 switch that i can practice my CCNA Studies with? I have been looking in ebay.

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

No.  2950-series switches is purely a Layer 2 appliance (switch).

Message was edited by: Leo Laohoo Duhhhh ... Type-o in my part.  I meant a 2950.

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer