Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

ISDN Problem ..

--begin ciscomoderator note-- The following post has been edited to remove potentially confidential information. Please refrain from posting confidential information on the site to reduce security risks to your network. -- end ciscomoderator note --

Hello Guys,

i am trying to connect to Internet via 801 and 806 (see design)

PCs

|

|

806 (PC connections with DHCP)

|

|

801 (ISDN)

The Probl is: I cann get an ip addresse from the DHCP Pool on my PC but cannot get the ISDN connection up by pinging an internet address

by using the manuel command " isdn call int bri0 0192658" i cann get the line up

cann annyone hlp me to solve this pobl ?

Thanks for any help

AF

(801)

--moderator edit-- router#sh

02:43:03: %SYS-5-CONFIG_I: Configured from console by console run

Building configuration...

Current configuration:

!

version 12.1

no service pad

service timestamps debug uptime

service timestamps log uptime

service password-encryption

!

hostname --moderator edit-- router

!

boot buffersize 8051

boot system flash c800-sy6-mw.121-2.T.bin

!

!

!

!

!

ip subnet-zero

no ip dhcp conflict logging

!

no ip domain-lookup

ip name-server --moderator edit-- nnn.nn.n.129

isdn switch-type basic-net3

isdn voice-call-failure 0

!

!

!

interface Ethernet0

ip address 10.10.10.1 255.255.255.0

ip nat inside

!

interface BRI0

ip address negotiated

ip nat outside

encapsulation ppp

dialer idle-timeout 180

dialer string 00192658

dialer-group 1

isdn switch-type basic-net3

ppp authentication pap chap ms-chap callin

ppp chap hostname msn

ppp pap sent-username --moderator edit-- password 7 --moderator edit--

!

ip nat inside source list 100 interface BRI0 overload

no ip http server

ip classless

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 BRI0 permanent

ip route 10.10.11.0 255.255.255.0 10.10.10.2

!

access-list 100 permit ip 10.10.10.0 0.0.0.255 any

dialer-list 1 protocol ip permit

!

line con 0

transport input none

stopbits 1

line vty 0 4

password 7 --moderator edit--

login

!

no rcapi server

!

!

end

--moderator edit-- router#

------------------------------

(806)

--moderator edit-- firewall#sh run

Building configuration...

Current configuration : 912 bytes

!

version 12.2

no service pad

service timestamps debug uptime

service timestamps log uptime

no service password-encryption

!

hostname --moderator edit-- firewall

!

enable secret 5 --moderator edit--

!

ip subnet-zero

no ip domain-lookup

ip name-server --moderator edit-- nnn.nn.n.129

ip dhcp excluded-address 10.10.11.1

!

ip dhcp pool CLIENT

import all

network 10.10.11.0 255.255.255.0

dns-server --moderator edit-- nnn.nn.n.129

default-router 10.10.11.1

!

ip ssh time-out 120

ip ssh authentication-retries 3

!

crypto mib ipsec flowmib history tunnel size 200

crypto mib ipsec flowmib history failure size 200

!

!

!

interface Ethernet0

ip address 10.10.11.1 255.255.255.0

hold-queue 100 out

!

interface Ethernet1

ip address 10.10.10.2 255.255.255.0

!

no ip classless

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.10.10.1

no ip http server

!

!

line con 0

exec-timeout 0 0

stopbits 1

line vty 0 4

password --moderator edit--

login

!

scheduler max-task-time 5000

end

--moderator edit-- firewall#

  • Other Network Infrastructure Subjects
5 REPLIES
Bronze

Re: ISDN Problem ..

Your config only shows 2 bri's and 2 dialers but from what I can see it might be getting confused by all those default routes. Each time another remote connects it has the capabilty of becoming the new default route and could make the others lines go idle then timeout and disconnect. Try using specific routes to each dialup network then if you dont want Ho to call the remotes remove the dailer string statements.

I would also see if you can get the phone numbers bundled into a rotary so all of the bri's can be in the same pool and all of the dialer interfaces can use that pool. Otherwise there is no point in using the dialer interfaces. You could just configure everything on the bri.

Re: ISDN Problem ..

2705 packets input, 29572 bytes, 0 no buffer

Received 0 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles

226 input errors, 29 CRC, 197 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored, 226 abort

2701 packets output, 20770 bytes, 0 underruns

There are a lot of errors on BRI 1/0 of 2600. Clear these counters, and monitor to see if they are increasing. To clear counters use command "clear counters int bri 1/0"

Cisco Employee

Re: ISDN Problem ..

First..the isdn bri line is not happy at this moment..The layer 1 is DEACTIVATED so you jst need to resolve that.

Here is the link which will help you for that.

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/129/bri-layer1.html

For layer 2

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/129/bri-layer2.html

Now i can see that the config is skipped..So i assume that the config is fine. With that we need to see what exactly happens when the more then two sites try to dialin. we need to see the debug for following when two calls are already connected and thrird call comes in.

debug isdn q931

debug dialer

debug ppp nego

debug ppp auth

New Member

Re: ISDN Problem ..

Hello Tejal Patel.

Here I am changing all HO and Remote (4 nos) config to point to point.

Please let me know, shall i Proced with these config.

Thanking You

Vishu

Spoke configuration :

Remote 1:

IP subnet-zero

No IP classless

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Hostname 801

Int Ethernet 0

IP address 175.17.0.1 255.255.0.0

Ip directed-broadcast

No cdp enable

Speed auto

Full-duflex.

Int Bri0

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Ip address 172.16.0.5 255.255.0.0

Encap ppp

No cdp

Dialer-group 1

Dialer-list 1 protocol IP permit

Dialer map IP 172.16.0.1 name 2600 speed 64 broadcast 24219840

IP route 175.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 172.16.0.1

Ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 172.16.0.1

IP route 172.16.0.1 255.255.255.255 BRI0.

Router RIP

Network 175.17.0.0

Network 172.16.0.0

Spoke configuration :

Remote 2:

IP subnet-zero

No IP classless

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Hostname 801

Int Ethernet 0

IP address 175.17.0.4 255.255.0.0

Ip directed-broadcast

No cdp enable

Speed auto

Full-duflex.

Int Bri0

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Ip address 172.16.0.8 255.255.0.0

Encap ppp

No cdp

Dialer-group 1

Dialer-list 1 protocol IP permit

Dialer map IP 172.16.0.2 name 2600 speed 64 broadcast 24219850

IP route 175.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 172.16.0.2

IP route 172.16.0.2 255.255.255.255 BRI0.

Ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 172.16.0.2

Router RIP

Network 175.17.0.0

Network 172.16.0.0

Spoke configuration :

Remote 3:

IP subnet-zero

No IP classless

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Hostname 801

Int Ethernet 0

IP address 175.17.0.3 255.255.0.0

Ip directed-broadcast

No cdp enable

Speed auto

Full-duflex.

Int Bri0

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Ip address 172.16.0.7 255.255.0.0

Encap ppp

No cdp

Dialer-group 1

Dialer-list 1 protocol IP permit

Dialer map IP 172.16.0.3 name 2600 speed 64 broadcast 24219845

IP route 175.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 172.16.0.3

IP route 172.16.0.3 255.255.255.255 BRI0.

Ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 172.16.0.3

Router RIP

Network 175.17.0.0

Network 172.16.0.0

Spoke configuration :

Remote 4:

IP subnet-zero

No IP classless

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Hostname 801

Int Ethernet 0

IP address 175.17.0.3 255.255.0.0

Ip directed-broadcast

No cdp enable

Speed auto

Full-duflex.

Int Bri0

ISDN switch-Type basic-net3

Ip address 172.16.0.6 255.255.0.0

Encap ppp

No cdp

Dialer-group 1

Dialer-list 1 protocol IP permit

Dialer map IP 172.16.0.4 name 2600 speed 64 broadcast 24219855

IP route 175.16.0.0 255.255.0.0 172.16.0.4

IP route 172.16.0.4 255.255.255.255 BRI0.

Ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 172.16.0.4

Router RIP

Network 175.17.0.0

Network 172.16.0.0

2620 config at Head office:

Hostname 2600

NO IP Classless

IP subnet-zero

ISDN switch-type basic-net3

Int Ethernet 0

Ip address 175.16.0.1 255.255.0.0

No cdp enable

Int BRI 1/0

IP address 172.16.0.1 255.255.0.0

ISDN switch-type basic-net3

No CDP enable

Encapsulation PPP

Dialer-group 1

Dialer-list 1 Protocol IP Permit.

Dialer map IP 175.16.0.5 name 801 speed 54 broadcast 25301915

IP route 175.17.0.1 255.255.255.255 172.16.0.5

IP route 172.16.0.5 255.255.255.255 BRI1/0

Int BRI 1/1

IP address 172.16.0.2 255.255.0.0

ISDN switch-type basic-net3

No CDP enable

Encapsulation PPP

Dialer-group 2

Dialer-list 2 Protocol IP Permit.

Dialer map IP 175.16.0.8 name 801 speed 54 broadcast 27613770

IP route 175.17.0.4 255.255.255.255 172.16.0.8

IP route 172.16.0.8 255.255.255.255 BRI1/1

Int BRI 1/2

IP address 172.16.0.3 255.255.0.0

ISDN switch-type basic-net3

No CDP enable

Encapsulation PPP

Dialer-group 3

Dialer-list 3 Protocol IP Permit.

Dialer map IP 175.16.0.7 name 801 speed 54 broadcast 28792506

IP route 175.17.0.3 255.255.255.255 172.16.0.7

IP route 172.16.0.7 255.255.255.255 BRI1/2

Int BRI 1/3

IP address 172.16.0.4 255.255.0.0

ISDN switch-type basic-net3

No CDP enable

Encapsulation PPP

Dialer-group 4

Dialer-list 4 Protocol IP Permit.

Dialer map IP 175.16.0.2 name 801 speed 54 broadcast 28966697

IP route 175.17.0.2 255.255.255.255 172.16.0.6

IP route 172.16.0.6 255.255.255.255 BRI1/3

Router RIP

Network 175.16.0.0

Network 172.16.0.0

looking for u r suggestions.

Cisco Employee

Re: ISDN Problem ..

IP addressing scheme is the issue here. Also no need to have telephone number configured in the dialer map at HUB site if you don't want hub site to dialout. Just use the config like following.

All the bri interfaces on HUB router should be configured like following

Int BRI 1/0

no ip address

ISDN switch-type basic-net3

ppp authentcation chap pap

No CDP enable

Encapsulation PPP

Dialer-group 1

dialer rotary-group 1

Now use the dialer interace config like this.

Interface dialer 1

ip address IP address 172.16.0.1 255.255.0.0

ppp authentcation chap pap

No CDP enable

Encapsulation PPP

Dialer-group 1

!

dialer-list 1 protocol ip permit

so instead of using individual bri interface with ip address, just use one dialer interface for all with just one ip address under the dialer interface.

Rest of the config is fine..

102
Views
0
Helpful
5
Replies
This widget could not be displayed.