Views
Helpful
Replies

L3 switching & STP

a.pijpaert
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

i'm pretty new to this spanning tree protocol and layer 3 switching but I was wondering...

If i have a redundant hierarchical network - with layer 3 switches in core/distribution and access layer, would I still need the STP or RSTP protocol to prevent loops? Or is this resolved by the routing protocols?

Thanx in advance...

7 Replies 7

ywadhavk
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Alvin,

You should not disable the STP. Please refer to the below url for more details on the importance of a STP.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/tech/tk389/tk621/technologies_configuration_example09186a008009467c.shtml

STP works at the switch port level unlike the routing protocol.

Hope this helps a bit.

Thanks,

yatin

Hello Yatin,

thank you for your fast response to my question, unfortunatley I cannot acces the page your link refers to. I've contacted cisco for access to the page but I've been told that I need partner or distributor level access. Unfortunatley I'm a student working on my final paper and this information could help me a lot. Is there a way I can still access this information?

Hope you can help me,

thanks in advance,

Alvin

Alvin,

Try this:

Understanding and Configuring Spanning Tree Protocol (STP) on Catalyst Switches

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk389/tk621/technologies_configuration_example09186a008009467c.shtml

Same URL as posted previously, except the word "partner" is removed.

Hope this helps.

Hi yatin, or anyone else...

What exactly do you mean that "STP works at switch port level unlike the routing protocol"?

I understand the way STP works but I'm not sure why we can't 'get rid of' STP.

Correct me if I'm wrong but this is the way that I see it: