cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Multicast PIM-SM Question

j.a.m.e.s
Level 3
Level 3

I'm relatively new to multicast and we have a problem at the moment involving an application (called 'Isis') which sends a multicast keepalive every 5 minutes.

The disappointing thing about this fault is that it usually happens during the night, and 3am call-outs are not my preferred activity on a Saturday morning ;-)

My first question is, when a leaf router, near a multicast 'publisher' (aka a source) receives it's first multicast packet, does it immedaitely create an s,g state?

The reason I ask is that we often see no s,g state in the leaf router, near the publisher. Could this be because a packet is only sent every 5 minutes?

Secondly, what makes a leaf router near the 'subscriber' (aka muticast receiver) move from an s,g state back to a *,g state?

I realise that there is a threshold during SPT-switchover, but how about SPT -switchback? I have run a script throughout the night which shows that our leaf router, near the subcriber, very occassionaly moves from an s,g state into a *,g state, although I don't anticipate this causing packet loss.

My final question is that imagine there are no receivers on the network whatsoever, but there is still a publisher sending packets every 5 minutes. (This is usually the situtation I wake up to at 3am). Should PIM-register be taking place to the rendez-vous point? Which routers should I see an s,g group in?

Many thanks to anyone who can help me solve this and get some sleep!

All the best,

James.

4 Replies 4

mtorelli
Level 1
Level 1