Views
Helpful
Replies

Need some 5509 switch Problem determination suggestions

lane_frazier
Level 1
Level 1

Hello There,

I'm pretty new to switching and am having an issue I could use some problem determination guidance on.

Situation is this

I have a server connected to one of my 5509 switches that is getting a large number of single collisions and multi-collisions...several hundred a minute when there is traffic hitting the server.

Intially the NIC card in the server was set to 10 MB auto...while the 5509 was set to 10 MB half duplex.

In an attempt to get the collision rate down...we tried changing out all the patch cords between the switch and the nic in the server. This did not help.

Next we changed the NIC to go half-duplex...thereby matching 5509 figuring autonegotiation was causing the collisions

This did not help.

Next we swapped over to the 2nd NIC that was in the server...still keeping same patch cable and 5509 switch port....no change...still getting many single and multi-collisions.

I'm considering my next move to be to set both the switch port and NIC to full duplex.....then maybe moving it to a different switch all together...although I have my doubts as to whether there is problem with the physical port on the 5509 .Is this a viable approach or is there something else to consider before that? I would appreciate suggestions. Thanks in advance

5 Replies 5

lane_frazier
Level 1
Level 1

Just read Trobleshooting Ethernet Collisions from Cisco...According to them Single and Multicollisions are "normal" in a half-duplex setup like I have. Since I'm not seeing late-collisions I don't really have a problem per say...I would like some other opinions on this please. Setting both to "full-duplex" would get rid of the counter but what does it solve?

Thanks