cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New to Cisco; need advice on router, etc.

TruckStuff
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. I am new to Cisco networking, although not new to networking itself. I am designing a network for my office and need some comments on the setup and questions below.

Scenario:

Right now, I'm thinking I'd like to have each department on separate subnets with a /20 net mask. I'd like to have a 1760 as the router/gateway for the entire office. Everyone in our company has to have gigabit Ethernet access (meaning every port on a switch has to be 10/100/1000). We also need VPN support so that staff on the road can connect in.

Questions:

1) From what I have seen of Cisco's gigabit switches, it looks like "pure" gigabit switches are primarily reserved for wiring-closet, backbone type applications. Is this the case? Are there any Catalyst switches < 12000 series that support gigabit ethernet on every port? (Note that 10/100 ports w/ GBIC uplinks are NOT acceptable here.)

2) Currently I'm looking at a 1760-VPN/K9 bundle for our router. We are sharing a DS3 WAN connection with another firm in our building (currently we use a cheesy LinkSys router-in-a-box for net access). Will the 1760 have enough horsepower to run all of this?

3) I'm a little confused about the "stock" ports on the back of the 1760. We don't have a console to plug into the router for local management. The way I understand things now is that the AUX port can be used for remote management. Is this true? If not, how do I manage the router out-of-the-box? Also, is the 10/100 ethernet port used for internal or external access (or either)?

4) The Cisco configuration tool I used recommended a WIC-1DSU-T1-V2 WIC for outside-world access. Does this sound correct? If the stock 10/100 Ethernet port on the back can be used as the "outside world" interface, do I even need this card?