Views
Helpful
Replies

NEW TO CISCO SWITCHES - PLEASE HELP

rania20052006
Level 1
Level 1

DEAR ALL,

I AM STILL NEW TO THE CISCO SWITCHS, AND WHILE I WAS WORKING I FOUND SOMETHING FOR CISCO SWITCH WHICH I AM WORKING ON IT .

I AM HAVEING CISCO SWITCH 2950 SERIES AND I AM USING THE CONSOL TO CONNECT TO IT .

NOW, MY MANGER ASKED ME TO PROVIDE TELNET CONNECTION TO THE SWITCH WITH PASSWORD.

I DID IT AND ITS WORKING.

HE IS ASKING ME FOR SOMETHING ELSE, HE WANTS TO CRATE USER NAME & PASSWORD FOR EACH USER ON THE CISCO SWITCH WHICH WE HAVE & EVERY ONE WHEN HE IS TELNET TO THE SWITCH HE SHOULD PUT HIS USER NAME & PASWWORD & THEN CONNECT.

MY QUESTION IS, HOW CAN I MAKE THIS TO WORK WITHOUT USING ( CISCO SECURE TACKS ) , IS IT POSSIBLE.

IF SO, CAN ANY ONE HELP ME TO DO THAT .,

7 Replies 7

Hello,

you can use local authentication on the switch. Let's say you want user Ahmed with password ramadan to connect to the switch, you would define a local username and password pair on the switch:

Switch#conf t

Switch(config)#username Ahmed password 0 ramadan

Then, under th terminal lines, you would configure 'login local':

Switch#conf t

Switch(config)#line vty 0 4

Switch(config-line)#login local

Now every time somebody telnets into the switch, that person has to enter a valid username and password, which has to be configured on the switch locally as described above...

Does that make sense ?

Regards,

GP

Hi;

First thanks for your reply .

Happy Ramadan for you .

Regarding that, if i have say 5 users & all of them will connect to the switch by tellnet, so the steps which i have to follow is :-

1- create Password for each telnet line.

2- Create user name & Password for each user.

but why i have to make the login local as you mention in that step:-

=====================================================

Then, under th terminal lines, you would configure 'login local':

Switch#conf t

Switch(config)#line vty 0 4

Switch(config-line)#login local