Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

OSI CLNS router config for DCN network

Hi

I'm just starting a new project to build a new DCN network and require info on CLNS routing and Multi-Area OSI routing. I've some experience with CLNS routing in a single area, but not with multi area routing.

The plan at the moment is to us IS-IS for IP and CLNS.

• Other Network Infrastructure Subjects
9 REPLIES

Re: OSI CLNS router config for DCN network

I am assuming you are talking about areas and not domains. When designing the network design your areas to communicate with Level 1 adjacencies and your inter area or domain connections as Level 2. Doing so you will create areas where all level 1 devices communicate with each other and the level 2 device router between level 1 areas creating an intradomain backbone. There is a whole lot more to it than just this and if you would like more info please ask.

M.

Hi

Thanks for your response.

I've been looking around on CCO and other web sites and have found that there is little info available on this subjet. If you have any good info, example config etc I would be greatful of your help.

The plan at the moment is this.

1. Core will be running IS-IS (Level 2), IP only, looking to tunnel OSI through the Core

2. Gateway Sites (Sites that connect to the optical/sdh devices) will be Level 1 devices for CLNS and IP. Optical devices are managed via OSI, SDH devices are managed via IP

3. Each gateway site will need to support multiple optical/SDH rings. Looking to terminate these as multiple Level 1 areas within a single router (Cisco 2621).

Sound ok!