cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ospf

carl_townshend
Spotlight
Spotlight

I am new to ospf, I have always used eigrp, Is this simple to set up, and is it better than eigrp, are the areas equivalent to different autonomous systems like eigrp, can anyone show me a simple config say 3 different networks on 3 different routers ?

14 Replies 14

ekiriakos
Level 1
Level 1

This is a good starting point with examples. Have fun..-)

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_white_paper09186a0080094e9e.shtml

Rgds

E.

I have had a read through this, my questions are, does each network subnet have its own area ? so the only way 2 routers would be in the same area are if they both had interfaces advertising the same subnet ?, can any one show me a sample config to help me on my way ?

thankyou

Two routers to form an adjacency they have to run ospf on the interface enable with the network command under the ospf process, see example below. Both interfaces have to be in the same area. Note that it is not the router which belongs to an area but the interface. Therefore each router can have connections to multiple areas.

RTA#

hostname RTA

interface Ethernet0

ip address 10.1.1.1 255.255.255.0

router ospf 10

network 10.1.1.1 0.0.0.0 area 0

RTF#

hostname RTF

interface Ethernet0

ip address 10.1.1.2 255.255.255.0

router ospf 10

network 10.1.1.2 0.0.0.0 area 0

Firstly, why is there a 0.0.0.0 mask after the netowkr you want to advertise ? secondly, is the area same has say router eigrp 100 etc, would you define an area say as an office block, central office area 0, other offices area 1, 2 etc etc, also how would I join 2 different areas ?

Ok,