Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Webcast-Catalyst9k
New Member

Problem with 2900 Switch

Hi,

I have a C2924-XL switch which my predesessor played around with. Not knowing the password I did the boot halt process. This worked fine. I removed the passwords and was able to look at the configuration that was setup. We had decided to blow everything away and start fresh. We entered a number of commands to delete this and that, then we rebooted. NOW the switch will not accept any keyboard commands. Here is a copy of what the HT displays during boot....

C2900XL Boot Loader (C2900-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5)XU, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

Compiled Mon 03-Apr-00 17:20 by swati

starting...

Base ethernet MAC Address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

Xmodem file system is available.

Initializing Flash...

flashfs[0]: 111 files, 3 directories

flashfs[0]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories

flashfs[0]: Total bytes: 3612672

flashfs[0]: Bytes used: 2778112

flashfs[0]: Bytes available: 834560

flashfs[0]: flashfs fsck took 6 seconds.

...done Initializing Flash.

Boot Sector Filesystem (bs:) installed, fsid: 3

Parameter Block Filesystem (pb:) installed, fsid: 4

Loading "flash:c2900XL-c3h2s-mz-120.5-XU.bin"...##########################################

##########################################################################################

#######################

File "flash:c2900XL-c3h2s-mz-120.5-XU.bin" uncompressed and installed, entry point: 0x3000

executing...

Restricted Rights Legend

Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software

IOS (tm) C2900XL Software (C2900XL-C3H2S-M), Version 12.0(5)XU, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

Copyright (c) 1986-2000 by cisco Systems, Inc.

Compiled Mon 03-Apr-00 16:37 by swati

Image text-base: 0x00003000, data-base: 0x00301398

Initializing C2900XL flash...

flashfs[1]: 111 files, 3 directories

flashfs[1]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories

flashfs[1]: Total bytes: 3612672

flashfs[1]: Bytes used: 2778112

flashfs[1]: Bytes available: 834560

flashfs[1]: flashfs fsck took 7 seconds.

flashfs[1]: Initialization complete.

...done Initializing C2900XL flash.

C2900XL POST: System Board Test: Passed

C2900XL POST: Daughter Card Test: Passed

C2900XL POST: CPU Buffer Test: Passed

C2900XL POST: CPU Notify RAM Test: Passed

C2900XL POST: CPU Interface Test: Passed

C2900XL POST: Testing Switch Core: Passed

C2900XL POST: Testing Buffer Table: Passed

C2900XL POST: Data Buffer Test: Passed

C2900XL POST: Configuring Switch Parameters: Passed

C2900XL POST: Ethernet Controller Test: Passed

C2900XL POST: MII Test: Passed

cisco WS-C2924-XL (PowerPC403GA) processor (revision 0x11) with 8192K/1024K bytes of memory.

Processor board ID 0x0E, with hardware revision 0x01

Last reset from power-on

Processor is running Enterprise Edition Software

Cluster command switch capable

Cluster member switch capable

24 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)

32K bytes of flash-simulated non-volatile configuration memory.

Base ethernet MAC Address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

Motherboard assembly number: 73-3382-08

Power supply part number: 34-0834-01

Motherboard serial number: FAB043432LB

Power supply serial number: PHI04160B58

Model revision number: A0

Motherboard revision number: B0

Model number: WS-C2924-XL-EN

System serial number: FAB0438S11B

Press RETURN to get started!

C2900XL INIT: Complete

00:00:28: %SYS-5-RESTART: System restarted --

Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software

IOS (tm) C2900XL Software (C2900XL-C3H2S-M), Version 12.0(5)XU, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

Copyright (c) 1986-2000 by cisco Systems, Inc.

Compiled Mon 03-Apr-00 16:37 by swati ( at this point, it hangs)

To me, it looks like something got corrupted, and I need to replace the boot image.

Your reply is greatly anticipated.

Thanks

Scott

6 REPLIES

Re: Problem with 2900 Switch

Nothing that I can see indicates the need to replace the software image.

Please try to restart HT instead.

It is not uncommon that HT locks up when a switch is rebooted, but what the heck; it's such a great program!?

Regards

Leo

New Member

Re: Problem with 2900 Switch

Hi Leo,

Since this problem began, I've actually moved the switch to my computer from the test box and loaded the latest version of HT. So this issue has now occured at 2 PC's.

Re: Problem with 2900 Switch

What serial speed are you running at?

If this is not 9600/8N1 it might be that your predecessor poked around with the console settings which you have undone by removing the old config.

It is not likely that your serial port blew altough I cannot exclude this possibility. Do you have any idea about ESD and how to prevent it from damaging your equipment?

All the best of luck,

Leo

Re: Problem with 2900 Switch

As you have a perfect boot-up log it is not likely that there is a speed mismatch but everything else is fairly basic. Test HT on another switch if you can, re-check all your cables, power-cycle all your stuff. If nothing helps, fear the worst.

Leo

New Member

Re: Problem with 2900 Switch

I am using 9600/8/N/1 and hardware flow control, for HT. Otherwise I would not be able to see the boot information. correct??

I'm very familiar with ESD. I have my A+ hardware and am working towards MCSA/MCSE etc.

I have switched between COM1 and COM2, with same result. Next up is the changing of the rollover cable.

I have been reading about doing a TFTP of the .bin file, but I am unsure I can even do this in the current status. Whats your thought on this

Thanks

New Member

Re: Problem with 2900 Switch

Leo, I want to thank you for your timely responses!

I have located the source of the problem. The DB9 adapter must have gone bad. I replaced the one I was using and rebooted. I am now able to communicate with the switch. (sigh) What a pain in the butt!

Now it's my turn to play with the switch :) .

Have a good day

Scott

122
Views
0
Helpful
6
Replies
CreatePlease to create content